Friday, 21 October 2011

Different Whale Species

For my project I need to know what type of whale I will be using as the fuel source for my engine. This post is a quick introduction to what a whale is, and what different species could best fit in with this project. 

There are many known species of great whale and several species of smaller whale. Some of the species I am interested in are listed below.

Sperm Whale (Physeter Macrocephalus) - The sperm whale is the largest toothed whale of all the whale species. The sperm whale has the largest brain of all mammals weighing around twenty pounds (9kg). The sperm whale has a single blowhole shaped like an S and situated on the left side of its huge head. The adult species of whale grow to be around to be 50-60 feet and weighing around 40-50 tons. The females are however a bit smaller, around 33-40 feet long and weighing only 14-18 tons.

Humpback Whale (Megaptera Novaeangliea) The Humpback Whale belongs to the Baleen whale species. Male adults grow to an average size of 39-52 feet. The Humpback Whale weighs approximately 79,000 pounds. The Humpback has a distinctive body shape; it has unusually long pectoral fins and a knobbly head. 
Blue Whale (Balaenoptera Musculus) The Blue Whale is a very slender and long whale. This particular whale is the largest of the three in length at a massive 98 feet. The whale weighs between 180-200 tons, making it the largest known animal to have ever existed. 

There are two charts below, the first shows different parts of the whale and what they are called, the second diagram lists more whales and a brief description of them. 

Whale Research Images and video -

Whale Research Images

No comments:

Post a Comment